Shaha, 28

Shaha, 28

I am from Afghanistan, from the Kunduz province. I studied law in the university of my home town because I love the practice of  law and helping people. I started working as a judge for the government of my country when I was just 24 years old.

I loved my job and I felt that i was useful to my country and my people, but one day I had to leave because the Taliban were threatening me and my family due to the fact I was working for the government. I had to send my family to Pakistan on the 5th of June 2015 to keep them safe and I decided to follow my dreams going to England.

I paid an agency €8.000 to take me to Europe, I crossed loads of countries Iran, Turkey, Greece, Macedonia, Serbia, Croatia, Austria, Germany and then I arrived in Paris. It took 2 months traveling by bus, by train and walking. Since then I’ve been in ‘the jungle’ of Calais for 5 months waiting to cross the border to England.

I live in a caravan with no electricity or water, but everything is worth it if may one day make it to England to keep studying, learning and helping people my knowledge. I just want to be free and safe and be able to help my family to survive.

About Care4Calais

Care4Calais was founded by a group of volunteers with the sole aim of supporting the people of the Calais refugee camps, providing fresh meals, warm clothing, heating and important legal and medical support.

We are not politicians – we are people like you who simply believe that every human has the right to be treated in a fair and dignified way.

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. Please let us know if you agree to all of these cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close